Nottinghamshire News

<< < 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 of 146 >

4th February 2024

50s & 65s teams remain unbeaten

Three Masters Teams played on Sunday 4th February. The 40s travelled to play Leicestershire, while the 50s and 65s played on their home courts at Chilwell Olympia against Cambridgeshire and Warwickshire respectively.

Nott’s 40s were unable to overcome the all-round strength of the Leicestershire side. Notts. won two Ladies and two Mixed rubbers, resulting in an 8-4 win to the Home team.
Notts. 40s next play League leaders Staffordshire on 25th February at Chilwell Olympia.
Congratulations to Abby Hunter who made her debut today and won two out of her three rubbers.

The 50s, playing in the Midlands East League, entertained their main rivals Cambridgeshire. Having previously beaten them on Cambridgeshire’s home courts, today the team convincingly won again. They won three Men’s, all four Ladies and two Mixed rubbers resulting in a good 9-3 win. Congratulations to the Ladies, having won all four Ladies doubles matches for the first time this season.
The team have won all their four matches so far in the Midlands East division, they are looking good to top their division and likely to play Midlands West Division favourites Bedfordshire in a Play Off on Sunday April 7th at Chilwell Olympia. The winning team to go forward to play in the League Finals.

Nott’s 65s team proved to be too strong playing against bottom of the league Warwickshire. Nott’s won two Men’s, all three Ladies and all three Mixed rubbers resulting in an 8-1 win.
The team’s last match in the Midlands division is against favourites Worcester 1st team, to be played on 24th March at Barnt Green Sports Club. The winning team to play in the League Finals.

40s Team:
Laura Birkinshaw, Abby Hunter, Andy Shaw – Mapperley Park B.C.
Kathryn Britton – Beeston Valley B.C.
Louise Bolam – Bingham B.C.
Alan Scott – Forest B.C.
Steve Farey – Carlton B.C.
Dominic Hobdell – Beeston Fields B.C.

50s Team:
Carl Jennings, Dave Barrett – Forest B.C.
Andy Cokayne, Paula Wilson, Jane Smith – Bingham B.C.
Julie Gater, Alan Bowmer – Mansfield Oaktree B.C.
Beverley Dolman – East Leake B.C.
Neil Franklin – Boots B.C.

65s Team:
Lynn Davison – Beeston Fields B.C.
Jacqui Burton, Gill Maloney – Chilwell B.C.
Ian Price, Mike Nettleton, Phil Johnson – Chilwell B.C.

<< < 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 of 146 >