County Masters News

First <<  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8   >> Last

11th February 2020

Decisive wins for Masters 45s and 60s Teams

Three Masters Teams competed on Sunday 9th February.
The over 45s and 55s 2nd teams entertained Shropshire at Chilwell Olympia while the 60s team travelled to play Leicestershire.

The 45s trounced Shropshire by 12-0. The team have now won all of their five matches played so far and move to 1st spot in the Midlands League.
They next play away, when they take on their main rivals Derbyshire on Sunday 23rd February. Derbyshire also unbeaten after four matches - should be a great contest!

The 55s 2nd team, playing their last match of the season, fought hard but were unable to overcome their opponents.
The Mens matches were extremely competitive, with Nott's winning three out of their four rubbers and unlucky not to win a forth!
Nott's could not capitalise on the Mens achievement when League leaders Shropshire bounced back to win all four Ladies and three Mixed rubbers resulting in an 8-4 win to Shropshire who remain unbeaten this season.

The 60s had a hard battle against Leicestershire with six games reaching a score line of 20-20. Ian Price and Jacqui Burton playing at 1st Mixed lost 26-28, 30-29, 21-14. Mike Higgs and Lynn Davison at 4th Mixed winning 23-25, 21-23.
However the overall strength of the Nott's side proved to be the deciding factor. Nott's winning three Mens, three Ladies and three Mixed rubbers resulting in a good 9-3 win. The team now move to 2nd position in their Midlands league.
Mike Nettleton and Pauline Adams were unbeaten in the match, playing together at 2nd Mixed, Mike with Mens partner Ian Price and Pauline with Jacqui Burton.
The 60s next play Warwickshire at Home on March 1st.

45s Team:
Paula Wilson, Matthew Tongue, Andy Cokayne - Bingham B.C.
Toni Favill, Julie Gater, Craig Favill - Mansfield Oaktree B.C.
Graydon Peacock - St. Giles B.C.
Heidi Scott-Smith - Mapperley Park B.C.

55s 2nd Team:
Sam Murphy - Chilwell B.C.
Gary Anstey - Forest B.C.
Richard Tang - Naseeb B.C.
Dave Hall - Boots B.C.
Frances Fox - Boots B.C.
Lesley Griffin - Loughborough Leys B.C.
Wendy Walton-Towle - Crusaders B.C.
Kim Martin - Carlton B.C.

60's Team:
Ian Price, Phil Johnson, Mike Nettleton - Chilwell B.C.
Mike Higgs - Forest B.C.
Jacqui Burton, Pauline Adams, Gill Maloney - Chilwell B.C.
Lynn Davison - Beeston Fields B.C.

First <<  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8   >> Last