County Masters News

First <<  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8   >> Last

7th March 2022

Another Nail biting finish for Nott’s 40s Team

Three Masters Teams played on Sunday 6th March. The 40s and 55s teams entertained Oxfordshire and Warwickshire respectively on their home courts at Chilwell Olympia, while the 65s travelled to Staffordshire.

The 40s again had a battle against Oxfordshire. Having previously beaten Oxfordshire Away with a winning 6-6 draw (15-14 games, 542-518 points to Nott’s on games won). Yet again, today the final result came down to count back.
After the level doubles, the Teams were level at 4-4 with Nott’s winning one Men’s and three Ladies rubbers. Then the Mixed – each team winning two rubbers, resulting in a 6-6 draw. Again the result came down to count back (6-6 rubbers, 14-14 games, 503-475 points), resulting in a final winning draw to Nott’s on points won.
Lee Truong was unbeaten in the match playing with partners Nathalie Woolsey-Butler and Sion Severn.
The team’s final Midlands West League match is against top of the League Staffordshire on Sunday March 13th at Chilwell Olympia. Nott’s requiring an outright win to progress to the Play Offs between Midlands West v Midlands East divisions, with the ultimate winning team to progress to the County Championship Finals.

The 55s team had a convincing 10-2 win against Warwickshire, winning three Men’s, all four Ladies and three Mixed rubbers.
They next play their return match against Buckinghamshire on March 20th at Chilwell Olympia.

The 65s team against Staffordshire were without regular ladies player Lynn Davison. Fortunately, stalwart Jenny Stark was able to take Lynn’s place and save the day.
The team won two Men’s, two Ladies and two Mixed rubbers, resulting in a 6-3 win.
Jacqui Burton and Mike Nettleton were both unbeaten in the match.
The team next play League leaders Worcestershire 1st team at Chilwell Olympia on Saturday March 12th.

40s Team:-
Simon Vanderwalt – East Leake B.C.
Sion Severn – Beeston Fields B.C.
Mat Haigh - Mapperley Park B.C.
Steve Farey – Carlton B.C.
Lee Truong, Nichola Stokes – Beeston Fields B.C.
Louise Bolam – Bingham B.C.
Nathalie Woolsey-Butler – Crusader B.C.

55s Team:-
Adrian Mateo – East Leake B.C.
Sam Murphy – Chilwell B.C.
Richard Tang – Naseeb B.C.
Andy Morrell – Crusader B.C.
Loraine Buck, Helen Clarke, Ellen Housley – Forest B.C.
Julie Peart – Chilwell B.C.

65s Team:-
Jacqui Burton, Eileen Clarke, Ian price, Mike Nettleton, Phil Johnson – Chilwell B.C.
Jenny Stark – Crusader B.C.

First <<  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8   >> Last